Entire males living together

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Entire males living together

Post  Terry on Thu May 17, 2012 10:18 pm

I have had a question via my own website from a non-member who has recently acquired three male llamas, now 15 months, 16 months and 21 months. She is not planning to get more llamas and wonder if she will have to have these neutered or whether they will get along without. At present all three seem to live peacefully together.
I have no experience in this area and would appreciate any comments.

Terry

Terry

Number of posts : 20
Registration date : 2009-04-09

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Male llamas living together

Post  vicki woodward on Fri May 18, 2012 8:31 am

Hi Terry
We have had all six of our boys living together until recently when we took our older stud male out of the field because he needs to rest due to an arthritis flare up. The six boys consist of 1 stud aged 13, one rising stud aged 3, 2 entires aged about 2 and two gelded boys. They all get along fine. Two things which make this situation work are
1) The girls are well away from the boys, they can't see or hear them at all
2) The fighting teeth are checked regularly, we also check for any signs of fighting, but once the initial 'pecking order' was established we have had no problems at all
Our stud is such a laid back boy and a great guardian too, he looks after the rest of his herd very well and I have seen him step in if there is a hint of trouble. The field they are in is about 3.5 acres so they have plenty of room to run and 'play'.
I would say in my experience as long as there is no female within sight or smell they will probably get along fine but also because of my own past experience I would keep a close eye on the fighting teeth and make sure they don't grow, they can cause serious injury!
Hope this helps
Vicki
vicki woodward

Number of posts : 16
Registration date : 2010-09-22

View user profile

Back to top Go down